CHUNG CHENG HIGH SCHOOL (YISHUN)
学校简史 History of our School
悠久的历史 Our Rich History
Chung Cheng High School boasts a rich history since its inception in 1939. As we reflect on the trials and tribulations that we had encountered over the years, we pride ourselves for overcoming the odds. Our students uphold the Chung Cheng Spirit "Success through Diligence & Perseverance", "when drinking water think of its source; to remember where one's happiness comes from" and "To make unremitting efforts to improve oneself". Today, not only did we make laudable achievements, we are also looking forward to the future and challenges with eager anticipation.
Chung Cheng High School was established in January 1939 at Kim Yam Road, Singapore. The school with only male pupils enrollment, attracted students from Asean countries in its early years. It ceased to function during the Japanese Occupation and resumed operation as a co-educational school in September 1945 after the Second World War.
In August 1947, to cope with the increased student population, part of the school moved into a new school building in Goodman Road. The school located at Goodman Road is named as Chung Cheng High School (Main) while the old school at Kim Yam road continued to function and was renamed Chung Cheng High School (Branch) and subsequently in May 1969 was relocated to Guillemard Road.
In 1981, following Singapore's emphasis on bilingualism, the school began to take English stream classes. Currently, the school offers secondary education courses in the express, normal academic and normal technical streams for pupils.
In the late 90s, there was an urgent need to upgrade the school facilities and to move to a spacious location. In January 2003, in preparation for its move to Yishun, Chung Cheng High School (Branch) started to operate at two campuses, namely the current Guillemard site and the holding school at Sembawang Drive. In 2005, when the new building was finally ready for use, Chung Cheng High School (Branch) was renamed as Chung Cheng High School (Yishun).
On 30 June 2006, the school held its opening ceremony for the new site.
Photographs taken during the time when the school was located at Kim Yam Road